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Upcoming Board Meetings
October 17 (Fargo, ND) 

I hope everyone has been enjoying their summer thus 
far. The June 30 deadline has come and gone for you to 
renew your license and firm permit. The good news how-
ever, we will not charge you a late fee until July 31, so if 
you have not gotten your renewals in yet we hope to hear 
from you soon. 

July 1 marked a new year at the State Board and marked 1 year since 
we have been in our new location. With the new year comes a new Board 
member. Mike Schmitz completed his first 5-year term and was re-ap-
pointed by the governor to serve a second term. Congratulations to Mike!  

We are pleased to announce we are making several changes and up-
dates here at the Board of Accounting office. Keep an eye out for our new 
website, as we are in the process of having a new site built and loading 
content. Also, we will be implementing a new CPE tracker/audit program 
before renewal time next year and the Board is working on making a rule 
change to allow our exam candidates to do continuous testing.  

Enjoy the rest of your summer and as always please don’t hesitate to 
call, email or drop by if you have any questions or comments. 

Executive Director’s Journal

North Dakota State 
Board of Accountancy 
Elects Officers for 
2019-2020
At the July 2019 meeting the North 
Dakota State Board Members  
voted new officers effective 
August 1, 2019 to July 31, 2020. 
Congratulations to Mike Schmitz, 
President and Faye Miller, 
Secretary on their re-election!

Labor Day
The ND State Board of 
Accountancy office will be 
closed Monday September 1 
in observance of Labor Day.
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North Dakota State Board of Accountancy  
New Attorney Tara B. Brandner
Hometown: Bismarck, North Dakota 
 
Hobbies and Pastimes: Tara enjoys spending the summer with 
family and friends at the lake in Minnesota.  
 
Job Responsibilities: Is an Assistant Attorney General in the State 
and Local Government Division of the North Dakota Office of the 
Attorney General. She represents the Aeronautics Commission, 
Board of Dental Examiners, Board of Examiners for Nursing Home 
Administrators, Commission on Legal Counsel for Indigents, 
Council on the Arts, Department of Health, Department of Labor, 
Human Resources Management Services, Information Technology 
Department, and State Library. 
 
Employment Background: Tara has been with the Office of the 
Attorney General since June of 2016. Prior to working in the Attorney 
General’s Office, Tara was employed with the Minnesota Department 
of Human Services in St. Paul, Minnesota. Tara received her J.D. 
from the University of St. Thomas School of Law and M.B.A. from the 
University of St. Thomas Opus College of Business.

Late Filing Fees to Increase
The North Dakota State Board of Accountancy voted to increase 
the late filing fees from $50 to $100 beginning with the 2019-
2020 renewal season at the July regular meeting. The board also 
decreased the amount of reporting time previously granted for 
extensions from October 31 to August 31. 

There tends to be a bit of confusion when knowing what is due when, 
why, and how. Renewal season brings two requirements: 

1. License Renewal and 
2. CPE Reporting, if required (those who do not hold out or claim 
inactive are not required to report CPE.) 

In North Dakota both renewals are combined on one form:
License/registration- where one states how they plan to use the CPA 
designation and 

CPE report- where required CPE is reported to the North Dakota 
State Board of Accountancy for examination. 

North Dakota CPA license registration and CPE reports are due at 
the same time each year on June 30.

License Registration:
Any license registration not renewed by July 31 will be assessed a 
late fee of $100 and will not be considered in good standing. If the 
license has not been renewed by August 31 it will be considered 
lapsed and will be involuntarily relinquished. In order to regain 
your license, you must complete the reinstatement application and 
write a letter to the board to request reinstatement of your license. 

Reinstatements are only considered 
at quarterly board meetings.

CPE Reporting:
All CPE reported is to be attained 
between July 1 and June 30 
annually and reported by June 30. 
If CPE is attained between July 
1 and June 30 but not reported 
timely it is considered late. If the 
full amount of CPE required is not 
attained between July 1 and June 
30 it is considered incomplete. 
Extensions will not be granted for 
incomplete CPE without Board 
review and disciplinary action will be 
considered. What does this mean? 
The board can assess disciplinary 
action as little as taking extra CPE 
courses or assess fines up to $1,000 
depending on the case.

What Should I do Now?
Now is the best time to plan your 
CPE for the upcoming season. Be 
sure you understand how you use 
your designation and attain the CPE 
required for that status. Don’t’ get 
caught short or late. Remember 
beginning June 30, 2022 the rolling 
3-year look back will increase for 
CPAs who register as “All others 
who hold out” to 120 CPE credits 
(to include 6 ethics credits) with a 
minimum of 20 credits per year.

FAQS:
Q: When is my license registration 
and CPE report considered late? 
A: Any license registration and 
CPE report not filed by June 30 is 
considered late on July 1.

Q: When are late fees assessed?
A: Late fees are assessed August 
1 on license registrations and CPE 
reports not filed by July 31.

Q: When can disciplinary action 
be taken?
A: Any license not renewed, or CPE 
not reported by August 31 are taken 
to the October board meeting for 
disciplinary action.
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Disciplinary Actions

3-02-02-06. Change of address notification.

CPAs, LPAs, and permit holders are required to notify the board of 
address changes within thirty days of such change.  

Mail to NDSBA, 215 N 3rd St, Ste 202C, Grand Forks, ND 58203
Email: pdemaster@nd.gov

April 2019

There were no disciplinary actions in April.

Reinstatements
There were no reinstatements in April.

July 2019
Duane Kabanuk #3288 
Brandon Wallace #5248

April 2019

July 2019
Pending disciplinary action in July. New Licenses Issued

The North Dakota Board of Accountancy 
issued 21 new CPA licenses 
between April 1 and June 30, 2019.  
Congratulations to our new licensees!

Johansen, Atle, AlexanderBerglie
Abraham, Danie, 
Abraham, Elvin, 
Samavedam, Vivek, 
Kelkar, Mandar, Ramesh
Bao, Xuyan, 
Hockert, Christopher, John

Beyer, Andrew, 
Dale


